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BOATING IN UTAH

Utah has some of the most beautiful 

waterways in the nation, including the 

Colorado River, Lake Powell, Bear Lake, and 

the Great Salt Lake.

With an ever-increasing demand on 

Utah’s limited number of rivers, lakes, and 

reservoirs, boaters must use their water 

recreation resources wisely. Boat owners 

and operators have the responsibility to 

advocate for and practice safe and ethical 

use of our waterways, including properly 

registering boats, learning and obeying 

boating safety laws and rules, and sharing 

waterways with other boaters, swimmers,  

and anglers.

Utah’s Boating Program educates boat 

operators about the laws and rules 

established to provide public safety and 

protect our natural resources. These efforts 

are funded by boat registration fees, state 

taxes on fuel used in motorboats, and 

federal boating safety grants. This brochure 

outlines the basic responsibilities of Utah 

boaters. For a complete copy of Utah’s 

boating laws, contact the Utah Division of 
Parks and Recreation Boating Program. 
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REGISTRATION 
REQUIREMENTS 

WHAT IS CONSIDERED A BOAT?

A boat is any type of watercraft capable of 
transporting a person(s) on the water. Boats 
such as personal watercraft (PWC), rafts, canoes, 
kayaks, float tubes, inner tubes, kick boats, and 
stand-up paddle boards are subject to Utah’s 
boating laws and rules. 

DOES MY BOAT NEED TO BE REGISTERED?

If your boat has a motor (gas or electric) on it, 
or if it is a sailboat, it needs to be registered 
and numbered. If you are visiting Utah (less 
than 60 days in a calendar year) and your boat 
is currently registered in your state, you do not 
need a Utah registration.

HOW DO I REGISTER MY BOAT?

All boat registrations are processed by the Utah 
State Tax Commission, Division of Motor Vehicles. 
To find an office near you, visit dmv.utah.gov.

The registration certificate must be carried on 
board the boat for which it is issued, and must be 
available for inspection whenever the boat is on 
the water.

WHERE DO I ATTACH THE REGISTRATION 
DECALS AND ASSIGNED NUMBERS?

The assigned number must be displayed on each 
side of the front half of the boat. Numbers and 
letters must be a solid color and block design, 
and at least 3 inches in height. The assigned 
number must contrast with the background color 
of the hull. Spaces or hyphens equal the width 
of a letter, and must separate letter groups from 
number groups. Numbers are read left to right.

The assigned bow number must be displayed on 
the boat with the decals, as shown in Figure 1.

The yearly registration decals are to be 
displayed 3 inches from the last number on each 
side of the boat. Only current yearly registration 
decals may be displayed. The month of 
expiration decals must be displayed immediately 
behind the yearly registration decals.

UT 2628 BP

UT-2628-BP
Starboard | (right) side example with hyphens

Figure 1

The current 
year decal 
should 
replace 
previous 
decals.  
Expired 
decals 
should not 
be shown.

Port | (left) side example without hyphens

WHEN DOES MY BOAT REGISTRATION EXPIRE?

Just like your vehicle registration, Utah boat 
registrations expire annually, at the end of the 
month in which the boat was originally registered. 

Owners who purchase boats from a dealer may be 
issued a 30-day temporary registration by the dealer.

3”

3”2” 2”
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UT-2628-BP2

UT 2628 BP 2
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WHERE IS THE HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER?

The hull identification number (HIN) on all boats 
built after Nov. 1, 1972, is permanently fixed to 
the rear of the boat, usually on the upper right 
corner. This number is required by federal law 
and must appear on the registration application.
 
The HIN consists of 12 letters and numbers at 
least one-quarter inch in height indicating the 
manufacturer, hull serial numbers and/or letters, 
and model year and/or month.

WILL MY BOAT BE TITLED?

Yes, it is required to be titled only if your boat is 
1985 or newer. Boats built before 1985 or equipped 
with motors less than 25 horsepower will not be 
titled by the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles.

DO I NEED INSURANCE FOR MY BOAT?

Yes, Utah residents will need to carry owner or 
operator liability insurance on motorboats and 
personal watercraft (PWC). Minimum insurance 
requirements are: $25,000/$50,000 bodily 
injury/death and $15,000 property damage 
or $65,000 combined minimum per accident. 
Motorboats equipped with engines less than 
50 horsepower and all air-boats are exempt 
from this requirement.

Proof of insurance must be carried on-board 
whenever the boat is in operation.

Non-Utah residents with a vessel registered in 
another state must meet their state’s insurance 
requirements or comply with Utah’s requirements 
within 90 days.

Helpful Hint: Successful completion of a boating 
safety course at boating.utah.gov may lower boat 
insurance premiums.

PADDLE SPORTS

Paddle sports are taking off in Utah, whether  
you are new or experienced in this activity, it  
can be a great source of exercise, or an escape 
to be one with nature. Hazards do exist, and it 
is your responsibility to keep yourself, and those 
you are with, safe while out on the water. Here 
are some laws and tips you need to know to be 
safe out there.

 �All stand up paddle-boards (SUP), kayaks 
and canoes must have at least one U.S. Coast 
Guard-approved wearable or inflatable life 
jacket for each person on board. Those 12 
years of age and younger must wear a life 
jacket at all times.

 �Expect to capsize and swim occasionally - it’s 
part of the sport. But when it’s unexpected, 
a life jacket will be needed, even if you are a 
good swimmer. It will provide flotation, so you 
can concentrate on re-boarding your craft. It 
will also provide extra insulation in cold water.

 �Place all your extra gear (drinking water, snacks, 
sunscreen, bug repellent, electronics, etc.) into 
a dry bag and secure it to your craft.

 �Dress in layers that are quick-drying and wick 
moisture away from the body.

 �Wear a leash (if applicable to your craft) or leash  
your paddle. There is a chance the wind may 
blow your craft or paddle away from you.

http://boating.utah.gov
http://boating.utah.gov
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EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS

WHAT SAFETY EQUIPMENT DO I NEED  
ON MY BOAT?
Life Jackets (Personal Flotation Devices or PFDs)

Life jackets save lives! In Utah, and nationally, 80% 
of people who drown in boating accidents would 
have survived if wearing a life jacket.

The Division of Parks and Recreation Boating 
Program recommends that all boaters and 
passengers not only have a life jacket, but wear 
it at all times while on the water. Accidents can 
happen, and do so too fast to find and put on a 
life jacket.

Utah law requires that all boats have at least 
one wearable U.S. Coast Guard-approved life 
jacket of the proper size, in good and serviceable 
condition, and readily accessible for each 
person on board. All life jackets must be used in 

accordance with the age, weight, activity, and 
use restrictions listed on the U.S. Coast Guard 
approval label. 

There are many different kinds of life 
jackets out there, and you should know the 
differences.
  
		�  Inflatable Suspender or  

Belt/Waist Pack
		�  Some models automatically 

inflate when submerged in the 
water. All models can be inflated 
manually or inflated by mouth.

		�  Not for use on rivers, PWC’s, 
being towed behind a boat, or 
by persons under the age of 16.

		�  Great for fishermen and general 
passengers.

	
		  Adult to Child Buoyancy Vest
		�  Covers a variety of uses, and 

shapes, sizes, and colors.
 
		  Infant to Child Buoyancy Vest
		�  Covers a variety of uses, and 

shapes, sizes, and colors.
  
		�  Throwable PFD 
		�  Boats 16 to 39 feet in length 

must carry at least one 
throwable PFD; boats 40 feet 
and greater must carry at least 
two throwable PFDs. Type IV 
throwable PFDs need to be 
placed in plain sight where they 
can be quickly accessed.

		  Pet Buoyancy Vest

 ��Wear brightly colored clothing to assist you to 
be seen by other boaters.

 �Carry a whistle and flashlight to signal other 
boaters.

 �Stay away from low head dams, strainers, and 
high water flows. Always consider your abilities 
to navigate every water condition you are in, or 
approaching.

 �Your craft does not need to be registered in 
Utah unless a motor or sail is attached.

 �Take a paddle sports education class. There 
are many courses out there that provide great 
safety information.

7  
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So which life jacket should I buy?

You should buy one that you will wear! It must 
fit you properly, and be approved for the activity 
you are participating in.

First Read the Label

There are two types of labels you will see when 
buying a life jacket. One designates the type and 
one designates performance. The new label that 
designates performance is approved for use in 
the United States and Canada, while the old label 
that designates type is only approved for the 
United States.

Here are some things to look for and do 
while reading a life jacket label.

 �Is it approved by the U.S. Coast Guard?

 �Check the label to make sure it matches your 
weight and chest size.

 �Try it on!

 �Make sure the fit is secure, comfortable,  
and adjustable.

 ��Is it comfortable enough that you will want  
to wear it?

 �Ask where will I be wearing this life jacket? 

The old U.S. Coast Guard typing codes are 
still valid, and will be for some time. 

Type I PFD (Wearable): Provides the most 
buoyancy and turns most unconscious wearers to 
a face-up position.

Type II PFD (Wearable): Turns some unconscious 
wearers to a face-up position.

Type III PFD (Wearable): Designed so wearers can 
place themselves in a face-up position.

Type IV PFD (Throwable): Designed to be thrown 
to a person in the water, grasped and held by the 
user until rescued.

Type V PFD (Wearable): Designed and approved 
for specific activities on the approval label, and 
only counts as a life jacket while worn. 

I III IVII

Old Label New Label

http://boating.utah.gov
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New US Coast Guard  
label performance designation

When choosing a life jacket with these symbols 
consider your activity and environment you 
will be in. Life jackets with the new label have a 
performance icon measured in newtons.  
 

You will find other icons on this new label so 
what do they mean?

		
	        Warning

	        �This life jacket is not designed for 
use on personal watercraft.

	        �This life jacket is not designed for 
use when water skiing.

	        �This life jacket is not designed for 
use when participating in similar 
towed uses.

	        �This life jacket is not designed for 
use in whitewater.

Any life jacket that has a rip or tear, frayed straps, 
and broken pieces should be thrown away.

What does that mean to you?

 �Lower performance numbers offer greater 
mobility, comfort, and style with good flotation 
for most people. 

 �Higher performance numbers offer greater 
flotation, turning, and stability in the water.

 �There are areas where you may be boating near 
shore when rescue is hours away, and a higher 
level is needed.

 �Be honest about your swimming ability. Poor 
swimmers may need a higher level to stay 
upright and easily tread water.

Leaving your life jacket on shore does no one any good.

http://boating.utah.gov
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Passengers 12 years of age and younger must 
wear a properly sized and approved wearable 
life jacket when the boat is on the water. 
Children are not required to wear life jackets 
while inside an enclosed cabin area of a boat 19 
feet or more in length.

Each person being towed on water skis or 
other devices, wake surfing, operating or riding 
on a PWC must wear a properly sized and 
approved life jacket.

On rivers, every person on any vessel including, 
inner tubes must wear a properly sized and 
approved life jacket. For persons older than 12 
years of age, life jackets may be loosened or 
removed only while on designated flat water 
river sections. Contact the Utah Division of Parks 
and Recreation Boating Program for a listing of 
designated flat water river sections in Utah.

Wear it Utah! Life jackets buy you time!

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

All motorboats must carry a serviceable U.S. 
Coast Guard or Underwriters Laboratory (UL) 
marine approved fire extinguisher. There are two 
types: rechargeable and disposable.

Rechargeable fire extinguishers have metal 
tops and need to be serviced every five years 
according to the date on the label. If it is 
discharged, it needs to be recharged or replaced.

Disposable extinguishers have plastic tops and  
a 12-year expiration date (see label or bottom).  
If discharged, it needs to be replaced.  

Depending on the size of your boat, you will 
need to carry more than one extinguisher:

 �Less than 26 feet in length: One B-I

 �26 feet to less than 40 feet in length:  
Two B-I or one B-II

 �40 feet to less than 65 feet in length:  
Three B-I or One B-I and One B-II

 �65 feet in length and greater: One fixed 
system in the engine compartment and three 
B-II placed at the helm, kitchen, and engine 
compartment.

      Classification (Type-size)

            Foam (Minimum gallons)

                   Carbon Dioxide (Minimum pounds)

	             Dry Chemical (Minimum pounds)

		       Halon/Freon (Minimum pounds)

  B-I     1.25     4         2       2.25

  B-II     2.5     15       10        –

Marine Fire Extinguisher Classification

Dry Chemical

Foam

Carbon Dioxide or Halon/Freon

Exemption: Outboard motorboats of open 
construction are not required to carry a fire 
extinguisher. Open construction means no closed 
compartments where portable fuel tanks may be 
stored; a double bottom that is sealed to the hull or 
completely filled with flotation material; no closed 
living spaces: no closed stowage compartments 
in which combustible or flammable materials are 
stored; no permanently installed fuel tanks.

http://boating.utah.gov
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VENTILATION

Gasoline-powered boats with covered motors 
(inboard or inboard-outboard) need proper 
ventilation to remove dangerous and explosive 
vapors from enclosed engine and fuel tank 
compartments. Gas vapors are heavier than air 
and will pool in the bottom with no escape.  
Be sure the boat is well ventilated (3- 4 minutes) 
before starting the engine, especially after 
refueling.

BACKFIRE FLAME CONTROL

All inboard gasoline engines must be equipped 
with a U.S. Coast Guard or Underwriters 
Laboratory (UL) approved backfire flame arrestor 
on the carburetor.

NAVIGATION LIGHTS

All boats must display navigation lights while 
operating between sunset and sunrise.

Motorboats less than 40 feet must display 
navigation lights as shown in figures 1, 2, or 
3. Motorboats 40 to 65 feet long must display 
navigation lights as shown in figures 1 or 2.

Sailboats must display navigation lights as shown 
in figures 4, 5, or 6. Sailboats under power must 
follow motorboat navigation light requirements. 

Manually propelled boats may display either 
navigation lights required for sailboats, or a white 
light (flashlight or lantern) that shall be displayed 
in sufficient time to prevent a collision.  
See figure 7. 

Personal Watercraft (Jet Skis, Waverunners,  
Sea-Doos, etc.) may not be operated between 
sunset and sunrise, they may not be equipped 
with navigation lights.

Motorboats or Sailboats adrift or at anchor 
must display an all-round white light unless 
anchored in a designated mooring area.

Non-navigation lights may only be displayed 
under 3 conditions: 1) a spotlight or other non-
navigational light may be used intermittently 
during docking or to locate a hazard, or 2) during 
a federal or state-permitted marine parade, or 3) 
a spotlight or other non-navigational light may 
be used when actively engaged in fishing, bow 
fishing, or scientific research on board boats that 
are not in a navigational channel and that are 
being operated at a wakeless speed. 

Figure 7

Figure 1 Figure 2 Figure 3

or or
or

Figure 4 Figure 5 Figure 6

or or

Location of Lights on Vessel

          Masthead

          All-round

          Side Lights

          Stern Light

Less than 40 ft.

2 miles

2 miles

1 mile

2 miles

40 ft.-60 ft.

3 miles

2 miles

2 miles

2 miles

Degrees of Arc Lights

225˚

360˚

112.5˚(each color)

135˚

Visible Range

http://boating.utah.gov
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HORN OR WHISTLE

Boats from 16 to 39 feet long must have a horn  
or whistle capable of producing a four-to-six-
second blast of sound. Boats 40 feet or greater 
must have a horn or whistle and a bell. A horn or 
whistle is recommended for boats less than 16 
feet in length.

BAILING DEVICE

All non-self-bailing boats must carry a bail 
bucket, or bilge pump. It is a good idea to carry 
both in case one fails.

SPARE PROPULSION

Boats less than 21 feet long must have at least 
one spare paddle, oar, or motor on board.

MUFFLERS

All motorboats must be equipped with and use a 
muffler system in good working order to prevent 
excessive noise. Motorboats manufactured before 
Jan. 1, 1993 cannot exceed 90 decibels; after 1993 
cannot exceed 88 decibels. Muffler cutouts or 
bypass systems are prohibited.

MARINE TOILETS

Pump it, don’t dump it! It is illegal to deposit 
human waste into Utah’s waters or adjacent 
lands. Marine toilets must be emptied at 
dockside, or other approved sanitation facilities.

Keep Utah’s waterways clean and beautiful by 
not littering or polluting in or around them.

Pump It!
Don’t Dump It!

OTHER EQUIPMENT SUGGESTIONS
Boat owners and operators are advised to carry 
flashlights, first-aid kits, boarding ladders, tool 
kits, extra line (rope), spare spark plugs, spare 
bilge plugs, spare propellers, anchors, and 
approved visual distress signals. Cell phones. GPS 
units and marine band radios have proven vital in 
many rescue situations.

AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES

Invasive quagga and zebra mussels are a major 
threat to our quality of life. They are small, clam-
like creatures that reproduce rapidly and cause 
significant economic impacts. They destroy 
fisheries, ruin shorelines and beaches, damage 
boats and equipment, and clog water delivery 
systems, costing millions of dollars to control.

It is illegal to possess or transport invasive 
mussels, including any water from infested 
waters. You must pull all drain plugs and drain 
all water from your boat before transport within 
Utah. If coming from an infested water, you must 
meet either the seasonal dry time requirement or 
undergo professional hot water decontamination. 
If you are a boater from another state you must 
pay a non-resident aquatic invasive species fee 
and complete an education course annually. For 
more information, visit stdofthesea.utah.gov.

http://boating.utah.gov
http://www.stdofthesea.utah.gov
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OPERATION REQUIREMENTS

DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE

Alcohol is allowed on all boats; however, it is 
against the law for a person under the influence 
of alcohol and/or drugs to operate a motorboat. 
Boating under the influence (BUI) is the same as 
driving under the influence (DUI) and has the 
same penalties including suspension of driver 
license, possible jail time and fines. Please drink 
responsibly!

A person operating a motorboat on Utah’s waters 
is considered to have given consent to take any 
field sobriety test requested by a peace officer 
who feels the person is operating under the 
influence of alcohol and/or drugs. If arrested, 
your boat, trailer, and tow vehicle may be 
impounded.

WHAT ARE BOATING STRESSORS?

Natural boating stressors such as the brightness, 
heat, and glare of the sun; noise and vibration 
of the boat; motion of the boat with the wind 
and waves; and even darkness; can affect a boat 
operator’s coordination, judgment, and reaction 
time. After four hours on the water, these stressors 
will produce a reaction time similar to having a 
blood alcohol content of 0.10. Rest frequently on 
land to reduce the effects of these stressors.

IS THERE A SPEED LIMIT ON THE WATER?

Yes! A wakeless or idle speed is required when 
operating a boat in a designated slow, wakeless 
speed area and within 150 feet of another boat, 
person in the water, a water skier (except those 
you are towing), shore angler, launch ramp, 
dock, or designated swimming area. You are 
responsible for any injury or damage caused by 
your boat’s wake. Be courteous and give others 
plenty of room.

19  

150 feet

Swim

 

Area

150 feet

150  fe
et
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HOW OLD MUST A PERSON BE TO OPERATE A 
MOTORBOAT OR SAILBOAT?

Persons under 16 years of age may operate a 
motorboat or sailboat when accompanied and 
under direct supervision of a responsible person 
18 years of age or older.

HOW OLD MUST A PERSON BE TO OPERATE A 
PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC)?

Children ages 12 through 17 may operate a 
PWC (Jet Ski, Waverunner, Sea-Doo, etc), upon 
completion of a Utah Division of Parks and 
Recreation approved boating education course. 
In addition, those between 12 and 15 years 
must operate under the direct supervision of 
a responsible adult at least 18 years of age. A 
person less than 18 years of age who has not met 
the above requirements may not operate a PWC 
unless accompanied by a responsible adult.

Education courses are available at boating.utah.gov.

WHAT IS MEANT BY DIRECT SUPERVISION?

Direct supervision means supervision within 
sight, at a distance in which visual contact can 
be maintained by the adult responsible for the 
young boat operator.

SAFETY AWARENESS

	      Carbon Monoxide - Known as the	
	      silent killer, this gas is odorless and 	
	      tasteless and can deplete your oxygen 
to the point of death. Do not allow anyone to 
spend time around the back of the boat while 
the engine is running. 

FACTS

 �Carbon monoxide (CO) is a deadly gas emitted 
through the exhaust ports in the rear of the 
boat when the engine is on or idling.

 �CO is colorless, odorless, and tasteless and 
can kill in seconds. It enters the bloodstream 
through the lungs and displaces the oxygen 
your body needs to breathe.

 �Early symptoms of CO poisoning include 
irritated eyes, headache, nausea, and dizziness. 
These symptoms are often confused with 
seasickness or intoxication.

 �Prolonged exposure to low CO concentrations 
or very short exposure to high concentration 
levels can lead to death.

 �Every year, boaters and children are injured 
or killed by CO in the boat’s cabin or other 
enclosed areas, and in the rear of the boat on or 
around the swim platform where there can be 
high levels of CO.

 �Any boat with an engine or generator can 
endanger passengers.


CARBON MONOXIDE

http://boating.utah.gov
http://boating.utah.gov
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Blockage of exhaust outlets 
can cause carbon monoxide 
to accumulate in the cabin 
and cockpit area - even when 
hatches, windows, portholes, 
and doors are closed.

Exhaust from another vessel 
that is docked, beached, or 
anchored alongside your 
boat can emit poisonous 
carbon monoxide gas into 
the cabin and cockpit of 
your boat.  Even with prop-
erly vented exhaust, your 
boat should be a minimum 
of 20 feet from the nearest 
boat that is running a gen-
erator or engine.

Slow speeds or idling in 
the water can cause carbon 
monoxide gas to accumulate 
in the cabin, cockpit, bridge, 
and aft deck, even in an open 
area.  A tailwind (force of 
wind entering from aft sec-
tion of the motorboat) can 
also increase accumulation.

The “station wagon effect,” 
or backdrafting can cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit and bridge when 
operating the boat at a high 
bow angle, with improper 
or heavy loading or if there 
is an opening that draws in 
exhaust.

This effect can also cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit, aft deck, and bridge 
when protective coverings 
are used and the boat is 
underway.

Teak surfing, dragging and water skiing within 20 feet 
of a moving watercraft can be fatal.

Side View of a Houseboat
Exhaust Vent from Generator

DANGER!  Air Pocket
& Water Under Step

Swim Platform

Generator

Generator Exhaust System

Port Engine

Below Water Level

AVOID THESE DEATH ZONES!

Swimming near or under the back deck or swim platform.

Carbon monoxide from exhaust pipes of inboard en-
gines, outboard engines and generators builds up in-
side and outside the boat in areas near exhaust vents. 
Teak surfing (also known as “platform dragging”), sit-
ting on the swim platform or swimming directly behind 
the boat when the engines are operating can be deadly 
within minutes.

NEVER enter an enclosed or partly enclosed area under 
a swim deck or platform where exhaust is vented, not 
even for a second, even if the engines/generators are 
off and have been off for a long time. Exhaust lingers in 
such areas, and it only takes one or two breaths of con-
taminated air in this “death chamber” to kill a swimmer.

STAY AWAY from open exhaust vent areas. DO NOT swim, 
sit, or stand in these areas when the motor or genera-
tor is operating. On calm days, wait at least 15 minutes 
after the motor or generator has been shut off before 
occupying open areas near exhaust vents. 

Enclosed Exhaust Area

Open Exhaust Area

Facts

Carbon monoxide (CO) is a deadly gas which is emitted with the exhaust through the exhaust ports at the rear of the 
boats.
CO is colorless, odorless and tasteless and can kill in a matter of seconds.  It enters the bloodstream through the lungs 
and displaces the oxygen your body needs to breathe.
Early symptoms of CO poisoning include: irritated eyes, headache, nausea and dizziness.  These symptoms are often 
confused with seasickness or intoxication.
Prolonged exposure to low CO concentrations or very short exposure to high concentration levels can lead to death.
Every year boaters are injured or killed by CO poisoning in a variety of ways.  Boaters can be exposed to CO within the 
cabin area or other enclosed areas of the boat.   Also, at the rear of the boat, on and around the swim platform is the 
area where high levels of CO have killed many boaters, often children.
Any boat with an engine and/or generator can endanger those on board under certain circumstances. 

What You Can Do

Educate everyone you care about regarding the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning, including the danger zones 
in and around the boat and the early poisoning signs.
Make sure your boat has the enclosed carbon monoxide warning decals placed at the helm and the swim platform 
area as a reminder.
If your boat is stopped in the water, never have the engine running.
Assign an adult to watch when anyone is swimming or playing in the water, even with the engine off.
Schedule annual engine and exhaust system maintenance inspections by experienced and trained technicians.
For boats with cabins or enclosed areas, keep the forward-facing hatches open, even when the boat is moving, to al-
low fresh air circulation in these areas.
Do not confuse CO poisoning with seasickness, intoxication or heat stress.  If anyone on board complains of any of the 
CO poisoning symptoms, move them to fresh air, investigate the cause and seek medical attention, if necessary. 
Install a CO detector in each accommodation space on your boat.  Check detectors before each trip to be sure they are 
functioning properly.

      Ask your boat dealer about your boat’s exhaust systems and where the danger zones are.

Checklist:  Each trip

Educate all passengers about carbon monoxide 
poisoning
Make sure all exhaust clamps are in place and 
secure
Regularly inspect your exhaust system for corro-
sion, water leaks or cracked fittings
Inspect all exhaust hoses for cracks or burns.   All 
hoses should be pliable and free of kinks
Confirm water flows from the exhaust outlet when 
engine and generator is started
Listen for change in exhaust sound which could 
indicate exhaust component failure
Test each CO detector before each trip

Checklist:  At least annually

Replace exhaust hoses if cracked, charred or dete-
riorated
Have cooling systems inspected, including water 
pump and housing 
Have exhaust system and components inspected 
for cracks, rust, leaks or loosening
Have generator cooling water anti-siphon valve 
inspected

Annual checklist must be performed by a qualified 
marine technician.
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Blockage of exhaust outlets 
can cause carbon monoxide 
to accumulate in the cabin 
and cockpit area - even when 
hatches, windows, portholes, 
and doors are closed.

Exhaust from another vessel 
that is docked, beached, or 
anchored alongside your 
boat can emit poisonous 
carbon monoxide gas into 
the cabin and cockpit of 
your boat.  Even with prop-
erly vented exhaust, your 
boat should be a minimum 
of 20 feet from the nearest 
boat that is running a gen-
erator or engine.

Slow speeds or idling in 
the water can cause carbon 
monoxide gas to accumulate 
in the cabin, cockpit, bridge, 
and aft deck, even in an open 
area.  A tailwind (force of 
wind entering from aft sec-
tion of the motorboat) can 
also increase accumulation.

The “station wagon effect,” 
or backdrafting can cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit and bridge when 
operating the boat at a high 
bow angle, with improper 
or heavy loading or if there 
is an opening that draws in 
exhaust.

This effect can also cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit, aft deck, and bridge 
when protective coverings 
are used and the boat is 
underway.

Teak surfing, dragging and water skiing within 20 feet 
of a moving watercraft can be fatal.

Side View of a Houseboat
Exhaust Vent from Generator

DANGER!  Air Pocket
& Water Under Step

Swim Platform

Generator

Generator Exhaust System

Port Engine

Below Water Level

AVOID THESE DEATH ZONES!

Swimming near or under the back deck or swim platform.

Carbon monoxide from exhaust pipes of inboard en-
gines, outboard engines and generators builds up in-
side and outside the boat in areas near exhaust vents. 
Teak surfing (also known as “platform dragging”), sit-
ting on the swim platform or swimming directly behind 
the boat when the engines are operating can be deadly 
within minutes.

NEVER enter an enclosed or partly enclosed area under 
a swim deck or platform where exhaust is vented, not 
even for a second, even if the engines/generators are 
off and have been off for a long time. Exhaust lingers in 
such areas, and it only takes one or two breaths of con-
taminated air in this “death chamber” to kill a swimmer.

STAY AWAY from open exhaust vent areas. DO NOT swim, 
sit, or stand in these areas when the motor or genera-
tor is operating. On calm days, wait at least 15 minutes 
after the motor or generator has been shut off before 
occupying open areas near exhaust vents. 

Enclosed Exhaust Area

Open Exhaust Area

Facts

Carbon monoxide (CO) is a deadly gas which is emitted with the exhaust through the exhaust ports at the rear of the 
boats.
CO is colorless, odorless and tasteless and can kill in a matter of seconds.  It enters the bloodstream through the lungs 
and displaces the oxygen your body needs to breathe.
Early symptoms of CO poisoning include: irritated eyes, headache, nausea and dizziness.  These symptoms are often 
confused with seasickness or intoxication.
Prolonged exposure to low CO concentrations or very short exposure to high concentration levels can lead to death.
Every year boaters are injured or killed by CO poisoning in a variety of ways.  Boaters can be exposed to CO within the 
cabin area or other enclosed areas of the boat.   Also, at the rear of the boat, on and around the swim platform is the 
area where high levels of CO have killed many boaters, often children.
Any boat with an engine and/or generator can endanger those on board under certain circumstances. 

What You Can Do

Educate everyone you care about regarding the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning, including the danger zones 
in and around the boat and the early poisoning signs.
Make sure your boat has the enclosed carbon monoxide warning decals placed at the helm and the swim platform 
area as a reminder.
If your boat is stopped in the water, never have the engine running.
Assign an adult to watch when anyone is swimming or playing in the water, even with the engine off.
Schedule annual engine and exhaust system maintenance inspections by experienced and trained technicians.
For boats with cabins or enclosed areas, keep the forward-facing hatches open, even when the boat is moving, to al-
low fresh air circulation in these areas.
Do not confuse CO poisoning with seasickness, intoxication or heat stress.  If anyone on board complains of any of the 
CO poisoning symptoms, move them to fresh air, investigate the cause and seek medical attention, if necessary. 
Install a CO detector in each accommodation space on your boat.  Check detectors before each trip to be sure they are 
functioning properly.

      Ask your boat dealer about your boat’s exhaust systems and where the danger zones are.

Checklist:  Each trip

Educate all passengers about carbon monoxide 
poisoning
Make sure all exhaust clamps are in place and 
secure
Regularly inspect your exhaust system for corro-
sion, water leaks or cracked fittings
Inspect all exhaust hoses for cracks or burns.   All 
hoses should be pliable and free of kinks
Confirm water flows from the exhaust outlet when 
engine and generator is started
Listen for change in exhaust sound which could 
indicate exhaust component failure
Test each CO detector before each trip

Checklist:  At least annually

Replace exhaust hoses if cracked, charred or dete-
riorated
Have cooling systems inspected, including water 
pump and housing 
Have exhaust system and components inspected 
for cracks, rust, leaks or loosening
Have generator cooling water anti-siphon valve 
inspected

Annual checklist must be performed by a qualified 
marine technician.
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Blockage of exhaust outlets 
can cause carbon monoxide 
to accumulate in the cabin 
and cockpit area - even when 
hatches, windows, portholes, 
and doors are closed.

Exhaust from another vessel 
that is docked, beached, or 
anchored alongside your 
boat can emit poisonous 
carbon monoxide gas into 
the cabin and cockpit of 
your boat.  Even with prop-
erly vented exhaust, your 
boat should be a minimum 
of 20 feet from the nearest 
boat that is running a gen-
erator or engine.

Slow speeds or idling in 
the water can cause carbon 
monoxide gas to accumulate 
in the cabin, cockpit, bridge, 
and aft deck, even in an open 
area.  A tailwind (force of 
wind entering from aft sec-
tion of the motorboat) can 
also increase accumulation.

The “station wagon effect,” 
or backdrafting can cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit and bridge when 
operating the boat at a high 
bow angle, with improper 
or heavy loading or if there 
is an opening that draws in 
exhaust.

This effect can also cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit, aft deck, and bridge 
when protective coverings 
are used and the boat is 
underway.

Teak surfing, dragging and water skiing within 20 feet 
of a moving watercraft can be fatal.

Side View of a Houseboat
Exhaust Vent from Generator

DANGER!  Air Pocket
& Water Under Step

Swim Platform

Generator

Generator Exhaust System
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Below Water Level

AVOID THESE DEATH ZONES!

Swimming near or under the back deck or swim platform.

Carbon monoxide from exhaust pipes of inboard en-
gines, outboard engines and generators builds up in-
side and outside the boat in areas near exhaust vents. 
Teak surfing (also known as “platform dragging”), sit-
ting on the swim platform or swimming directly behind 
the boat when the engines are operating can be deadly 
within minutes.

NEVER enter an enclosed or partly enclosed area under 
a swim deck or platform where exhaust is vented, not 
even for a second, even if the engines/generators are 
off and have been off for a long time. Exhaust lingers in 
such areas, and it only takes one or two breaths of con-
taminated air in this “death chamber” to kill a swimmer.

STAY AWAY from open exhaust vent areas. DO NOT swim, 
sit, or stand in these areas when the motor or genera-
tor is operating. On calm days, wait at least 15 minutes 
after the motor or generator has been shut off before 
occupying open areas near exhaust vents. 

Enclosed Exhaust Area

Open Exhaust Area

Facts

Carbon monoxide (CO) is a deadly gas which is emitted with the exhaust through the exhaust ports at the rear of the 
boats.
CO is colorless, odorless and tasteless and can kill in a matter of seconds.  It enters the bloodstream through the lungs 
and displaces the oxygen your body needs to breathe.
Early symptoms of CO poisoning include: irritated eyes, headache, nausea and dizziness.  These symptoms are often 
confused with seasickness or intoxication.
Prolonged exposure to low CO concentrations or very short exposure to high concentration levels can lead to death.
Every year boaters are injured or killed by CO poisoning in a variety of ways.  Boaters can be exposed to CO within the 
cabin area or other enclosed areas of the boat.   Also, at the rear of the boat, on and around the swim platform is the 
area where high levels of CO have killed many boaters, often children.
Any boat with an engine and/or generator can endanger those on board under certain circumstances. 

What You Can Do

Educate everyone you care about regarding the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning, including the danger zones 
in and around the boat and the early poisoning signs.
Make sure your boat has the enclosed carbon monoxide warning decals placed at the helm and the swim platform 
area as a reminder.
If your boat is stopped in the water, never have the engine running.
Assign an adult to watch when anyone is swimming or playing in the water, even with the engine off.
Schedule annual engine and exhaust system maintenance inspections by experienced and trained technicians.
For boats with cabins or enclosed areas, keep the forward-facing hatches open, even when the boat is moving, to al-
low fresh air circulation in these areas.
Do not confuse CO poisoning with seasickness, intoxication or heat stress.  If anyone on board complains of any of the 
CO poisoning symptoms, move them to fresh air, investigate the cause and seek medical attention, if necessary. 
Install a CO detector in each accommodation space on your boat.  Check detectors before each trip to be sure they are 
functioning properly.

      Ask your boat dealer about your boat’s exhaust systems and where the danger zones are.

Checklist:  Each trip

Educate all passengers about carbon monoxide 
poisoning
Make sure all exhaust clamps are in place and 
secure
Regularly inspect your exhaust system for corro-
sion, water leaks or cracked fittings
Inspect all exhaust hoses for cracks or burns.   All 
hoses should be pliable and free of kinks
Confirm water flows from the exhaust outlet when 
engine and generator is started
Listen for change in exhaust sound which could 
indicate exhaust component failure
Test each CO detector before each trip

Checklist:  At least annually

Replace exhaust hoses if cracked, charred or dete-
riorated
Have cooling systems inspected, including water 
pump and housing 
Have exhaust system and components inspected 
for cracks, rust, leaks or loosening
Have generator cooling water anti-siphon valve 
inspected

Annual checklist must be performed by a qualified 
marine technician.
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Blockage of exhaust outlets 
can cause carbon monoxide 
to accumulate in the cabin 
and cockpit area - even when 
hatches, windows, portholes, 
and doors are closed.

Exhaust from another vessel 
that is docked, beached, or 
anchored alongside your 
boat can emit poisonous 
carbon monoxide gas into 
the cabin and cockpit of 
your boat.  Even with prop-
erly vented exhaust, your 
boat should be a minimum 
of 20 feet from the nearest 
boat that is running a gen-
erator or engine.

Slow speeds or idling in 
the water can cause carbon 
monoxide gas to accumulate 
in the cabin, cockpit, bridge, 
and aft deck, even in an open 
area.  A tailwind (force of 
wind entering from aft sec-
tion of the motorboat) can 
also increase accumulation.

The “station wagon effect,” 
or backdrafting can cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit and bridge when 
operating the boat at a high 
bow angle, with improper 
or heavy loading or if there 
is an opening that draws in 
exhaust.

This effect can also cause 
carbon monoxide to ac-
cumulate inside the cabin, 
cockpit, aft deck, and bridge 
when protective coverings 
are used and the boat is 
underway.

Teak surfing, dragging and water skiing within 20 feet 
of a moving watercraft can be fatal.

Side View of a Houseboat
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AVOID THESE DEATH ZONES!

Swimming near or under the back deck or swim platform.

Carbon monoxide from exhaust pipes of inboard en-
gines, outboard engines and generators builds up in-
side and outside the boat in areas near exhaust vents. 
Teak surfing (also known as “platform dragging”), sit-
ting on the swim platform or swimming directly behind 
the boat when the engines are operating can be deadly 
within minutes.

NEVER enter an enclosed or partly enclosed area under 
a swim deck or platform where exhaust is vented, not 
even for a second, even if the engines/generators are 
off and have been off for a long time. Exhaust lingers in 
such areas, and it only takes one or two breaths of con-
taminated air in this “death chamber” to kill a swimmer.

STAY AWAY from open exhaust vent areas. DO NOT swim, 
sit, or stand in these areas when the motor or genera-
tor is operating. On calm days, wait at least 15 minutes 
after the motor or generator has been shut off before 
occupying open areas near exhaust vents. 

Enclosed Exhaust Area

Open Exhaust Area

Facts

Carbon monoxide (CO) is a deadly gas which is emitted with the exhaust through the exhaust ports at the rear of the 
boats.
CO is colorless, odorless and tasteless and can kill in a matter of seconds.  It enters the bloodstream through the lungs 
and displaces the oxygen your body needs to breathe.
Early symptoms of CO poisoning include: irritated eyes, headache, nausea and dizziness.  These symptoms are often 
confused with seasickness or intoxication.
Prolonged exposure to low CO concentrations or very short exposure to high concentration levels can lead to death.
Every year boaters are injured or killed by CO poisoning in a variety of ways.  Boaters can be exposed to CO within the 
cabin area or other enclosed areas of the boat.   Also, at the rear of the boat, on and around the swim platform is the 
area where high levels of CO have killed many boaters, often children.
Any boat with an engine and/or generator can endanger those on board under certain circumstances. 

What You Can Do

Educate everyone you care about regarding the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning, including the danger zones 
in and around the boat and the early poisoning signs.
Make sure your boat has the enclosed carbon monoxide warning decals placed at the helm and the swim platform 
area as a reminder.
If your boat is stopped in the water, never have the engine running.
Assign an adult to watch when anyone is swimming or playing in the water, even with the engine off.
Schedule annual engine and exhaust system maintenance inspections by experienced and trained technicians.
For boats with cabins or enclosed areas, keep the forward-facing hatches open, even when the boat is moving, to al-
low fresh air circulation in these areas.
Do not confuse CO poisoning with seasickness, intoxication or heat stress.  If anyone on board complains of any of the 
CO poisoning symptoms, move them to fresh air, investigate the cause and seek medical attention, if necessary. 
Install a CO detector in each accommodation space on your boat.  Check detectors before each trip to be sure they are 
functioning properly.

      Ask your boat dealer about your boat’s exhaust systems and where the danger zones are.

Checklist:  Each trip

Educate all passengers about carbon monoxide 
poisoning
Make sure all exhaust clamps are in place and 
secure
Regularly inspect your exhaust system for corro-
sion, water leaks or cracked fittings
Inspect all exhaust hoses for cracks or burns.   All 
hoses should be pliable and free of kinks
Confirm water flows from the exhaust outlet when 
engine and generator is started
Listen for change in exhaust sound which could 
indicate exhaust component failure
Test each CO detector before each trip

Checklist:  At least annually

Replace exhaust hoses if cracked, charred or dete-
riorated
Have cooling systems inspected, including water 
pump and housing 
Have exhaust system and components inspected 
for cracks, rust, leaks or loosening
Have generator cooling water anti-siphon valve 
inspected

Annual checklist must be performed by a qualified 
marine technician.
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The “station wagon effect,” or backdrafting can cause 
carbon monoxide to accumulate inside the passenger 
area when operating the boat at a high bow angle, with 
improper or heavy loading or if there is an opening that 
draws in exhaust.

This effect can also cause carbon monoxide to 
accumulate inside the passenger area and aft deck when 
protective coverings are used and the boat is underway.

Blockage of exhaust 
outlets can cause 
carbon monoxide 
to accumulate in 
the passenger area - 
even when hatches, 
windows, portholes,
and doors are closed.

Slow speeds or idling 
in the water can cause 
carbon monoxide gas 
to accumulate in the 
passenger area and 
aft deck, even in an 
open area. A tailwind 
(force of wind entering 
from aft section of the 
motorboat) can
also increase 
accumulation.

Exhaust from another vessel that is docked, beached, 
or anchored alongside your boat can emit poisonous 
carbon monoxide gas into the passenger area of your 
boat. Even with properly vented exhaust, your boat 
should be a minimum of 20 feet from the nearest boat 
that is running a generator or engine.

AVOID THESE DEATH ZONES!

NEVER enter an enclosed or partly enclosed area under 
a swim deck or platform where exhaust is vented, not 
even for a second, even if the engines/generators are 
off and have been off for a long time. Exhaust lingers 
in such areas, and it only takes one or two breaths 
of contaminated air in this “death chamber” to kill a 
swimmer.

STAY AWAY from open exhaust vent areas.  
DO NOT swim, sit, or stand in these areas when the 
motor or generator is operating. On calm days, wait at 
least 15 minutes after the motor or generator has been 
shut off before occupying open areas near exhaust vents.

Swimming, teak surfing, dragging and water skiing within 
20 feet of a moving watercraft can be fatal.
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WHAT YOU CAN DO

 �Educate yourself and others about CO 
poisoning, including the boat’s danger zones 
and early symptoms of poisoning.

 �If your boat stops in the water, never leave the 
engine running.

 �Make sure an adult is watching when anyone 
is swimming or playing in the water near the 
boat, even when the engine is off. Deadly 
fumes may have accumulated.

 �Schedule annual engine and exhaust system 
maintenance inspections by trained technicians.

 �Keep forward-facing hatches open on boats 
with cabins or enclosed areas even when the 
boat is moving to allow fresh air to circulate.

 �Do not confuse CO poisoning with seasickness, 
intoxication or heat stress. If anyone on board 
complains of any CO poisoning symptoms, 
move them to fresh air, investigate the cause, 
and seek medical attention.

 �Install a CO detector in each interior space 
where people might be. Check them before 
each trip to make sure they are working 
properly.

In order to avoid carbon monoxide poisoning, 
the State Rules require a boat operator to 
never operate or idle your boat’s engine when 
someone is on or holding onto the boat’s 
swim platform, deck, steps, or ladder; or when 
someone is being towed in a non-standing 
position within 20 feet of the boat. These 
rules do not apply if you are assisting with the 
docking or departure of the boat, exiting or 
entering the boat, or if the boat is involved in 
law enforcement activities.

http://boating.utah.gov
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	      Propeller Injury - Avoid serious, and
	      potentially deadly injuries by always
	      turning your engine off when people 
are in the water near the boat’s propeller. If your 
boat is equipped with an engine cut-off switch 
lanyard, attach it to the operator.

Weather - Check the forecast before heading out, 
and pay attention to changing conditions while on 
the water. Weather can change rapidly in Utah.

File a Float Plan - Let a responsible person know 
where you are going and when you plan to 
return. Many lives have been saved by following 
this simple step.

TOWING PEOPLE BEHIND THE BOAT?

Boat operators must maintain a safe course with 
a proper lookout when towing a person on water 
skis, wakeboards, or other devices. In addition 
to the operator, an observer, at least 8 years old, 
must be on board to watch and communicate 
with the skier. The observer must display an 
international orange flag, at least 12 inches by 
12 inches square, and mounted on a handle, 
when the person(s) being towed is in the water, 
preparing to be towed or finishing a tow. Do not 
display the flag the entire time someone is towed.

Towing people behind a boat is allowed only 
between sunrise and sunset. All persons being 
towed must wear a properly sized life jacket, 
approved for the activity in which it is going to 
be used. It is prohibited to tow a person(s) in a 
non-standing position within 20 feet of the back 
of the towing boat.

You must have room on board your boat, within 
the boat’s maximum person capacity, for any 
person(s) being towed behind the boat. When 


PROPELLER IN AREA

operating your boat within the designated 
slow wakeless speed area of a launch ramp or 
developed marina, you are prohibited from 
towing a person(s) on towed devices.

MAY PASSENGERS RIDE ON THE BOW OR 
OTHER EXTERIOR PARTS OF A BOAT?

No one may operate a motorboat faster than a 
wakeless speed with passengers sitting on the 
front, sides, back, seat backs, or motor cover, 
unless there are adequate rails preventing a 
person from falling overboard.

Operating a motorboat or having the engine of 
a motorboat idling while a person is occupying 
or holding onto the swim platform, swim deck, 
swim step, or swim ladder is prohibited due to 
the risk of carbon monoxide poisoning. This 
restriction does not apply when the person is 
assisting with the docking or departure of the 
motorboat or while the person is entering or 
exiting the motorboat.

For boats less than 16 feet in length, passengers 
may not ride on the front of the boat when 
operated faster than a wakeless speed. For boats 
16 feet or longer, passengers may not ride on 
the front of the boat when operated faster than 
a wakeless speed. For boats 16 feet or longer, 
passengers may ride on the front if they straddle 
an upright support on the bow rail without 
blocking the operator’s view.

http://boating.utah.gov
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WHO HAS THE RIGHT OF WAY?

A boat operator is required to keep a proper 
lookout by sight and hearing at all times. This 
means operating at a safe speed and distance so 
as to have adequate time and distance to avoid a 
collision with another boat or object.

Meeting Head to Head 
When meeting another boat head-on, each boat 
should change its course to the right.

Both motorboats must alter its course and speed 
if necessary.

Crossing
When two boats are crossing paths, the boat on 
the left must slow down and alter its course to 
allow the other boat to pass.

When passing from the rear, the boat being 
passed has the right of way. The passing boat is 
required to alter its course if necessary and stay 
at least 150 feet away.

Overtaking another boat

In narrow channels, boats underway must stay 
as far to the right of the middle of the channel 
as is safely navigable. Motorboats must slow to 
a wakeless speed if they cannot stay at least 150 
feet from other boats.

Motorboats should stay clear of sailboats and 
manually powered boats, and should not create 
a wake that may cause them trouble. Sailboats 
and manually powered boats must yield right of 
way when overtaking motorboats and when a 
motorboat is adrift or at anchor.

On rivers, boats going downstream usually have 
the right of way over boats going upstream.

HELP! THERE’S AN ACCIDENT!

If you were involved in a boating accident, stay 
calm, and do the following:

 �Help other people involved in the accident 
to the extent you are able. It is illegal to 
leave the scene prior to rendering aid, 
exchanging information and notifying local law 
enforcement.

 �Exchange contact information with any injured 
person or owner of property damaged.

 �Notify local law enforcement officers 
immediately if anyone dies, disappears, 
requires treatment beyond simple first aid, or if 
combined property damage exceeds $2000.

 �Submit a completed and signed boat owner/
operator accident report form to Utah Division 
of Parks and Recreation within 10 days. Forms 
are available at: boating.utah.gov.

150’

Stand-on  
Motorboat Maintains  
Course & Speed

Give-way motorboat must 
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SAFETY AND COURTESY TIPS

Swimming
Swimming near a launch ramp, around boat 
docks, in a mooring area, or inside a marina 
or harbor is prohibited. “Swimming” and “No 
Swimming “ areas are designated for your 
protection.

Unless one person remains on board to operate 
the boat, swimming from an unanchored boat 
can create a dangerous situation. Wind can cause 
the boat to drift, leaving swimmers stranded. It 
is a safe practice to wear your life jacket while 
swimming from your boat in open water.

Courtesy Docks
Courtesy docks are placed for your convenience. 
Be polite by leaving your boat tied to a courtesy 
dock no longer than 15 minutes. Fishing from, or 
within, 75 feet of courtesy docks is prohibited.

Launch Ramp Etiquette
Boat ramps are for launching and retrieving 
only. Vehicles should be parked in designated 
parking areas and never left unattended on 
a launch ramp. Be ready to launch your boat 
before moving onto the ramp. Complete your 
launch quickly. When retrieving your boat, pull it 
away from the ramp before wiping it down and 
securing it for extended travel.

EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS

Think about possible emergency situations. 
Determine what to do if someone falls overboard, 
if there is a fire, breakdown, or collision.

Practice putting on your life jacket while you are 
in the water. Practice throwing a Type IV PFD.

If your boat capsizes, it will usually float. Put on a 
life jacket and stay with the boat so you can be 
more easily seen by rescuers.

OTHER GOVERNING AGENCIES

There are federal, state, and local governing 
agencies that may establish boating safety 
requirements, which may be more restrictive 
than Utah’s boating laws and rules. Be sure to 
learn their restrictions before you go boating.

WHERE CAN I LEARN MORE

Visit us at boating.utah.gov or contact Utah 
Division of Parks and Recreation Boating Program 
at usprboating@utah.gov or call Utah’s Boating 
Hotline at 801-538-BOAT (2628).
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1st rescue boat “Rescue 1” stationed on the Great Salt Lake.

http://boating.utah.gov
http://boating.utah.gov
mailto:usprboating@utah.gov
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