OHV Laws & Rules
The Utah’s Off-Highway Vehicle Program brochure outlines the basic responsibilities of OHV riders. The brochure covers registration, equipment, and operation requirements, safety tips, courtesy and ethics.
Click HERE for the full list of Utah’s OHV Laws and Rules.
Basic OHV Laws and Rules:
- Wear Your Helmet: For riders and passengers under age 18, it’s the law, but we advise everyone to wear a helmet. It can save your life. Properly worn, a helmet won’t reduce vision or hearing and helps cut out windblast.
- Gloves, abrasion resistant clothing, and over the ankle boots are also highly recommended
- Youth, 8-15 years of age, must possess an OHV education certificate before operating an OHV on public land
- Ride On Utah! – Ride only on designated routes and areas open to OHVs
- Ride on the right side of the road and in single file
- Be alert to oncoming traffic, especially on blind curves or in dips and crests of hills
- It is illegal to drive an OHV while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- A red or orange “whip flag” must be attached to OHVs when riding in sand dune areas
- Lights must be used between sunset and sunrise
- Be sure your brakes will control and stop your OHV
- Mufflers with an approved spark arrestor are required on all OHVs (snowmobiles do not require spark arrestors)
Report OHV Accidents
If you are involved in an OHV accident, help any other people involved in the accident and notify local law enforcement officers immediately by the quickest means of communication available.
Give your name, address, and identification to any injured person or owner of property that is damaged in the accident.
If anyone was injured or killed in the accident, submit a completed and signed OHV Accident Report to the Utah Division of Parks and Recreation within 15 days. OHV accident forms are available from the Division of Parks and Recreation or any state parks ranger. Information in accident reports is confidential.