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BOATING IN UTAH

Utah has some of the most beautiful waterways
in the nation including the Colorado River, Lake
Powell, Bear Lake and Great Salt Lake.

With an ever-increasing demand on Utah'’s
limited number of rivers, lakes and reservoirs,
boaters must use their water recreation resources
wisely. Boat owners and operators have the
responsibility to practice and advocate safe and
PLA A ethical use of our waterways including properly
L'ITZ‘L\ LS\}L!?:L\ registering boats, learning and obeying boating
: safety laws and rules, and sharing waterways

with other boaters, swimmers and anglers.

Utah’s Boating Program aims to educate and
inform boat operators about boating laws and
O Ut e et et rules established to provide public safety and
> protect our natural resources. These efforts
are funded by boat registration fees, state fuel
taxes used in motorboats and federal boating
safety grants. This brochure outlines the basic
responsibilities of Utah boaters. For a complete
copy of Utah’s boating laws, contact the Utah
State Parks Boating Program.
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REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

WHAT IS CONSIDERED A BOAT?

A boat is every type of watercraft capable of
transporting a person(s) on the water. Boats

such as personal watercraft (PWC), rafts, canoes,
kayaks, float tubes, inner tubes, kick boats and
standup paddle craft are subject to Utah’s boating
laws and rules.

DOES MY BOAT
NEED TO BE REGISTERED?

If your boat has a motor on it or if it’s a sailboat, it
needs to be registered and numbered. If you have a
sailboard or are visiting Utah (less than 60 days in a
calendar year) and your boat is currently registered
in your state, you do not need to have a Utah
registration.

HOW DO | REGISTER MY BOAT?

All boat registrations are processed by the Utah
State Tax Commission, Division of Motor Vehicles.
To find an office near you, visit: dmv.utah.gov.

The registration certificate must be carried on
board the boat for which it is issued and must be
available for inspection whenever the boat is in
operation.

WHERE DO | ATTACH THE REGISTRATION
DECALS AND ASSIGNED NUMBERS?

The assigned number must be displayed on each
side of the front half of the boat. Numbers and
letters must be a solid color and block design and at
least three inches in height. The assigned number
must contrast with the background color of the hull.
Spaces or hyphens, equal to the width of a letter,
must separate letter groups from number groups.
Numbers are read left to right.

The assigned bow number must be displayed on the
boat with the decals as shown in Figure 1.

p2.

The yearly registration decals are to be displayed
three inches from the last number on each side of
the boat. Only current yearly registration decals
may be displayed. The month of expiration
decals must be displayed immediately behind the
yearly registration decals.
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Figure 1: Attach the registration decals and assigned numbers as shown.

WHEN DOES MY
BOAT REGISTRATION EXPIRE?

Just like your vehicle registration, Utah boat
registrations expire annually at the end of the month
in which the boat was originally registered. Renewal
notices are usually mailed to registered owners
during the month of expiration.

Owners who purchase boats from a dealer may
be issued a 30-day temporary registration from
the dealer.

WHERE IS THE
HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER?

The hull identification number (HIN) on all boats

built after November 1, 1972 is permanently fixed
to the rear of the boat, usually on the upper right

corner. The number is required by federal law and
must appear on the registration application.

The HIN consists of 12 letters and numbers at least
one-quarter inch in height indicating manufacturer,
hull serial numbers and/or letters and model year
and/or month.
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WILL MY BOAT BE TITLED?

Yes, if it was manufactured in 1985 or after. Boats
built before 1985 or equipped with motors less than
25 horsepower will not be titled by the Utah Division
of Motor Vehicles.

DO I NEED INSURANCE FOR MY BOAT?

Utah residents need to carry owner or operator
liability insurance on motorboats and personal
watercraft (PWC). Minimum insurance requirements
are: $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury/death - $15,000
property damage or $65,000 combined minimum
per accident. Motorboats equipped with engines
less than 50 horsepower and all airboats are
exempt from this requirement.

Proof of insurance must be carried on board
whenever boat is in operation.

Non-Utah residents with a vessel registered in
another state must meet their state’s insurance
requirements or comply with Utah’s requirements
within 90 days.

Successful completion of a boating safety course
may lower your boat insurance premiums.

PADDLE SPORTS

Standup paddleboards (SUP), kayaks and canoes
are becoming more popular on Utah’s waters.
Because they handle differently than motorboats,
familiarize yourself with the rules of the water
before heading out.

Each vessel must have at least one U.S. Coast Guard
approved wearable or inflatable life jacket for each
person on board. Those 12 years of age and younger
must wear a life jacket at all times. You should

also carry a spare paddle, bail bucket and whistle.
NOTE: Spare paddle and bail bucket are not
required for SUP.

Your craft does not need to be registered in Utah
unless a motor or sail is attached.

pa

EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS

WHAT SAFETY EQUIPMENT
DO I NEED ON MY BOAT?

Life Jackets (Personal Flotation Devices or PFDs)

Lifejackets save lives! Nationally, 80% of people
who drowned in boating accidents would have
survived had they been wearing a PFD. Wear it Utah!

Utah law requires that all boats have at least one
wearable U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket of
proper size, in good and serviceable condition and
readily accessible for each person on board. All life
jackets must be used in accordance with the age,
weight, activity and use restrictions listed on the
U.S. Coast Guard approval label.

Type | PFD | Wearable: Provides the most
buoyancy and turns most unconscious wearers to a
face-up position.

Type Il PFD | Wearable: Turns some unconscious
wearers to a face-up position.

Type Il PFD | Wearable: Designed so wearers can
place themselves in a face-up position.

Type IV PFD | Throwable: Designed to be thrown
to a person in the water, grasped and held by the
user until rescued.

Type V PFD | Wearable: Designed and approved
for specific activities listed on the approval label.

U.S. Coast Guard approved inflatable life jackets are
rated as Types I, 11, 111, or V, and are more comfortable
and less bulky to wear than traditional
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life jackets. Some models automatically inflate when
submerged in the water, while all models can be
manually or inflated by mouth. If you plan to wear
an inflatable life jacket, read the approval label for
age, use restrictions and proper care. Inflatable life
jackets may not be used by persons under the age
of 13; operating or riding on a PWC; being towed
behind a vessel; or while boating on rivers.

Boats 16 to 39 feet in length must carry at least one
throwable PFD; vessels 40 feet and greater must
carry at least two throwable PFDs. Type IV PFDs
need to be stored in plain and open view where they
can be quickly accessed.

Passengers 12 years of age and younger must wear
a properly sized and approved Type I, II, Il or V

life jacket when the boat is in operation. Type V life
jackets must be used according to the requirements on
the approval label. Children do not have to wear life
jackets while inside an enclosed cabin area of boats 19
feet or more in length.

Each person being towed on water skis or other
devices or operating or riding on a PWC, must
wear a properly sized and approved life jacket.

On rivers, every person on any vessel including
inner tubes must wear a properly sized and
approved life jacket. For persons older than 12 years
of age, life jackets may be loosened or removed only
while on designated flat water river sections. Contact
the Utah State Parks Boating Program for a listing of
designated flat water river sections in Utah.

Users of non-standard manually propelled vessels,
such as air mattresses and inner tubes, are required
to comply with life jacket laws when being used

on any river or more than 50 feet away from shore,
except in a marked swimming area.

Wear it Utah! Life Jackets Buy you Time!

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

All motorboats must carry a serviceable U.S. Coast
Guard or Underwriters Laboratory (UL) marine
approved fire extinguisher. There are two types -
rechargeable and disposable.

Rechargeable fire extinguishers have metal tops
and need to be serviced every five years according
to the date on the label. If it is discharged, it needs
to be recharged or replaced.

Disposable extinguishers have plastic tops and
expire 12 years from the date it was made (see label
or bottom). 1f it is discharged, it needs to be replaced.

Depending on the size of your boat, you will need
to carry more than one extinguisher:

> Less than 26 feet in length: One/B-1

> 26 feet to less than 40 feet in length:
Two/B-1 or one/B-II

» 40 feet to less than 65 feet in length:
Three/B-1 or one/B-I and one/B-II

» 65 feet in length and greater:
One/fixed system in the engine compartment and
three/B-II of which one- helm, one - kitchen, and
one - engine compartment

Marine Fire Extinguisher Classification

Classification (Type-size)
Foam (Minimum gallons)
Carbon Dioxide (Minimum pounds)
Dry Chemical (Minimum pounds)
| Halon/Freon (Minimum pounds)

Bl |1.25| 4 | 2 | 225
B |25 15 [10 | -

Foam
Carbon Dioxide or Halon/Freon
Dry Chemical

EXEMPTION: Open construction motors (outboards) fewer
than 26 feet with portable fuel tanks do not need fire
extinguishers, but they are strongly recommended.

Hicniionts Frow JTAHS BOATING Laws & Rutes
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VENTILATION

Gasoline powered boats with covered motors
(inboard or inboard-outboard) need proper ventilation
to remove dangerous and explosive vapors from
enclosed engine and fuel tank compartments. Gas
vapors are heavier than air and will pool in the
bottom with no escape. Be sure the boat is well
ventilated before starting the engine, especially after
refueling.

BACKFIRE FLAME CONTROL

All inboard gasoline engines must be equipped with
a U.S. Coast Guard or Underwriters Laboratory
approved backfire flame arrestor on the carburetor.

NAVIGATION LIGHTS

All boats must display navigation lights while
operating between sunset and sunrise.

Motorboats less than 40 feet must display
navigation lights as show in figures 1, 2 or 3.
Motorboats 40 to 65 feet long must display
navigation lights as shown in figures 1 or 2.

Sailboats must display navigation lights as shown
in figures 4, 5 or 6. Sailboats under power must
follow motorboat navigation light requirements.

Manually propelled boats must display either
navigation lights required for sailboats or a white
light (flashlight or lantern) displayed in sufficient
time to prevent a collision. See figure 7.

Personal Watercraft - PWC (Jet Skis, Wave
Runners, Sea Doos, etc.) may not be operated between
sunset and sunrise, even if they are equipped with
navigation lights.

Boats adrift or at anchor must display an all-
around white light unless anchored in a designated
mooring area.

Figure 1 Figure 2 Figure 3
or
or or
Figure 4 Figure 5 Figure 6
or or
Figure 7

Visible Range
Location of Lights on Vessel | Less than 40 ft. | 40ft-60ft. | Degrees of Arc Lights
8 Masthead 2 miles 3 miles 225°
Q All-round 2 miles 2 miles 360°
, Side Lights 1 mile 2 miles 112.5"(each color)

O Stern Light 2 miles 2 miles 135°

The display of spotlights, docking lights or other non-navigational
lights is limited to intermittent use to approach a dock or to locate
a hazard to navigation.

WHISTLE OR HORN

Boats from 16 to 39 feet long must have a whistle
or horn capable of producing a four to six second
blast of sound. Boats 40 feet and greater must have
a horn or whistle and a bell. A whistle or horn is
recommended for boats less than 16 feet in length.

HicHiiegnTts Frowm UTAH’S BOATING Laws & RuLes
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BAILING DEVICE

All non self-bailing boats must carry a bail bucket
or hilge pump. It is a good idea to carry both in case
one fails.

SPARE PROPULSION

Boats less than 21 feet long must have at least one
spare paddle, oar or motor on board.

MUFFLERS

All motorboats must be equipped with a muffler
system in good working order and in constant
operation to prevent excessive noise. Motorboats
manufactured before January 1, 1993 cannot exceed
90 decibels; after 1993 cannot exceed 88. Muffler
cutouts or bypass systems are prohibited if they
exceed 75 decibels at the shoreline.

MARINE TOILETS

Pump it, don't dump it! It is illegal to deposit
human waste into Utah’s waters or on lands
adjacent to these waters. Marine toilets must be
emptied at dockside or other approved sanitation
facilities.

Keep Utah’s waterways clean and beautiful by not
littering or polluting in or around them.

ﬂ Pump It!
Don’t Dump It!

OTHER EQUIPMENT SUGGESTIONS

Boat owners and operators are advised to carry
flashlights, first aid kits, boarding ladders, tool
kits, extra line (rope), spare spark plugs, spare
bilge plugs, spare propellers, anchors and approved
visual distress signals. Cell phones, GPS units and
marina band radios have proven vital in many
rescue situations.

AQUATIC INVASIVE SPECIES

Invasive quagga and zebra mussels are a major
threat to our quality of life. They are small, clam-
like creatures that reproduce rapidly and deplete
nutrients in the water. They destroy fisheries,
pollute shoreline and beaches, damage boats and
equipment, and cost millions to control.

They’re so small, they could be hitching a ride on
your boat without you even knowing it. That is why
in 2008, the Utah State Legislature made it illegal to
possess or transport invasive mussels. If you have
been in infested water, you must decontaminate your
boat and equipment before entering or traveling
with it in Utah. For more information about

infested waters and decontamination processes

visit: wildlife.utah.gov/decontaminate.html or
stdofthesea.com.
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OPERATION REQUIREMENTS

DON'T DRINK AND DRIVE

Alcohol is allowed on all boats; however it is against
the law for a person under the influence of alcohol
and/or drugs to operate a motorboat. Boating under
the influence (BUI) is the same as driving under

the influence (DUI) and has the same penalties
including suspension of driver license, possible jail
time and fines. Please drink responsibly!

A person operating a motorboat on Utah’s waters
is considered to have given consent to take any
field sobriety test requested by a peace officer who
feels the person is operating under the influence of
alcohol and/or drugs. If arrested, your boat, trailer
and tow vehicle may be impounded.

WHAT ARE BOATING STRESSORS?

Natural boating stressors such as the brightness,
heat and glare of the sun, noise and vibration of the
boat, motion of the boat with the wind and waves,
and even darkness can affect a boat operator’s
coordination, judgment and reaction time. After
four hours of being on the water, these stressors will
produce a reaction time similar to having a blood
alcohol content of .10. Rest frequently on land to
reduce the effects of these stressors.

IS THERE A SPEED LIMIT
ON THE WATER?

Yes! A wakeless or idle speed is required when oper-
ating a boat in a designated slow, wakeless speed area
and within 150 feet of another boat, person in the
water, a water skier (except those you are towing),
shore angler, launch ramp, dock or designated swim-
ming area. You are responsible for any injury or dam-
age caused by your boat’s wake. Be courteous and
give others plenty of room.

HOW OLD MUST A PERSON BETO
OPERATE A MOTORBOAT OR SAILBOAT?

Persons under 16 years of age may operate a motor-
boat or sailboat when accompanied on board and
under the direct supervision of a responsible person
who is at least 18 years of age.

HOW OLD MUST A PERSON BE TO
OPERATE A PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
(PWC)?

Children ages 12 through 17 may operate a PWC
(Jet Ski, Wave Runner, Sea Doo, etc.), upon completion
of a Utah State Parks approved boating education
course. In addition to the education course, those
between 12 and 15 years must operate under direct
supervision of a responsible adult who is at least

18 years of age. A person less than 18 years of age
who has not met the above requirements may not
operate a PWC unless accompanied on board by a
responsible adult.

Education courses are available at: boating.utah.gov.

WHAT IS MEANT BY DIRECT SUPERVISION?

Direct supervision means supervision within
sight at a distance in which visual contact can be
maintained by the adult responsible for the young
boat operator.
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SAFETY AWARENESS

Carbon Monoxide - Known as the
silent killer, this gas is odorless and
tasteless and can deplete your oxygen
DANGER o the point of death. Do not allow
CrEOEnoEE anyone to spend time around the back
of the boat while the engine is running.
Early symptoms of poisoning include
headache and nausea.

Propeller Injury - Avoid serious
\ and potentially deadly injuries by
(WP always turning your engine off when
DANGER people are in the water near the boat’s
e propeller. If your boat is equipped with
an engine cut- off switch lanyard, attach

it to the operator.

—~

Weather - Check the forecast before heading out
and pay attention to changing conditions while on
the water. Weather can change rapidly in Utah.

File a Float Plan - Let a responsible person know
where you are going and when you plan to return.
Many lives have been saved by following this
simple step.

TOWING PEOPLE BEHIND THE BOAT?

Boat operators must maintain a safe course with a
proper lookout when towing a person on water skis,
wakeboards or other towed devices. In addition

to the operator, an observer, at least eight years

old, must be on board to watch and communicate

h1a

with the skier. The observer must display an
international orange flag; at least 12 inches by 12
inches square and mounted on a handle, when
the person(s) is being towed is in the water, either
preparing to be towed or finishing a tow.

Towing people behind a boat is allowed only
between sunrise and sunset. All persons being
towed must wear a properly sized life jacket
approved for the activity in which it is going to be
used. It is prohibited to tow a person(s) in a non-
standing position within 20 feet of the back of the
towing boat.

You must have room on board your boat, within
the boat’s maximum person capacity, for any
person(s) being towed behind the boat. When
operating your boat within the designated slow,
wakeless speed area of a launch ramp or developed
marina, you are prohibited from towing a person(s)
on towed devices.

MAY PASSENGERS RIDE ON THE BOW
OR OTHER EXTERIOR PARTS OF A BOAT?

No one may operate a motorboat faster than a
wakeless speed with passengers sitting on front,
sides, back, seat backs or motor cover, unless there
are adequate rails preventing a person from falling
overboard.

Operating a motorboat or having the engine of a
motorboat idling while a person is occupying or
holding onto the swim platform, swim deck, swim
step or swim ladder is prohibited due to risk of
carbon monoxide poisoning. This restriction does
not apply when the person is assisting with the
docking or departure of the motorboat or while the
person is entering or exiting the motorboat.

For boats less than 16 feet in length, passengers
may not ride on the front of the boat when operated
faster than a wakeless speed. For boats 16 feet or
longer, passengers may ride on the front if they
straddle an upright support on the bow rail without
blocking the operator’s view.

s & RuLes
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WHO HAS THE RIGHT OF WAY?

A boat operator is required to keep a proper lookout
by sight and hearing at all times. The operator of a
boat is required to operate at a safe speed and dis-
tance so as to have adequate time and distance to
avoid a collision with another boat or object.

Meeting Head to Head
When meeting another boat head-on, each boat
should change its course to the right.
S =—————
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Both Motorboats Must Alter Course and Speed if Necessary

Crossing
When two boats are crossing paths, the boat on the
left must slow down and alter its course to allow the

other boat to pass. }\
Y
N

Stand-on Motorboat s
Mai . Sy '
aintains Course & Speed 5 ~~‘15y
.
S
Give-way motorboat 4
Give-way motorboat must alter

Stand-on motorboat
course and speed

DANGER ZonE 112.5°

In overtaking situations (passing from the rear), the
boat being passed has the right of way. The passing
boat is required to alter its course if necessary and
stay clear of the other boat at least 150 feet away.
X '
* 150

L
.. R >
In narrow channels, boats underway must stay as far
to the right of the middle of the channel as is safely

navigable. Motorboats must slow to a wakeless speed
if they cannot stay at least 150 feet from other boats.

Overtaking Another Boat '."
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Motorboats should stay clear of sailboats and
manually powered boats and should not create a
wake that may cause them trouble. Sailboats and
manually powered boats must yield right of way
when overtaking motorboats and when a motorboat
is adrift or at anchor.

On rivers, boats going downstream usually have the
right of way over boats going upstream.

HELP... THERE'S AN ACCIDENT!

If you are involved in a boating accident, stay calm
and do the following:

» Help other people involved in the accident to the
extent you are able.

» Exchange contact information with any injured
person or owner of property damaged

» Notify local law enforcement officers immediately
if anyone dies, disappears, requires treatment
beyond simple first aid or if combined property
damage exceeds $2,000.

» Do not leave the scene prior to rendering aid,
exchanging information and notifying local law
enforcement. This is illegal.

» Submit a completed and signed boat owner/

operator accident report form to Utah State Parks
within 10 days. Forms are available from a park

ranger or at: boating.utah.gov.
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A1DS TO NAVIGATION

WHAT DO WATERWAY MARKERS MEAN?

Waterway markers provide important information
to make boating experiences safe and enjoyable
by identifying restricted or dangerous waters.
Familiarize yourself with these markers:

CONTROLLED AREA

Designations such as a speed limit, slow
no wake, no skiing or no motorboats may
be indicated within the orange circle.

DANGER!

Use extreme caution! Hazards including
rocks, sand or rock bars, construction
and snags may be indicated inside the
orange diamond.

BOATS KEEP OUT!

Restrictions include waterfalls, swim areas,
dams and spillways and are indicated
outside the orange crossed diamond.

INFORMATION

This marker provides non-regulatory
information such as directions, distances,
and locations.

CHANNEL MARKER - Center

White buoy with vertical red stripes marks
the center of a channel or “safe water.”
CHANNEL MARKER - Left

Green “can” buoy marks the left side of
a channel when proceeding upstream
or returning to harbor. This marker will
usually be odd numbered.

CHANNEL MARKER - Right

Red “nun” buoy marks the right side of
a channel when proceeding upstream
or returning to harbor. This marker will
usually be even numbered.

MOORING BUOY
White buoy with a horizontal blue band
that may have a white light or reflector.
ALPHA FLAG
Blue and white flag identifies a boat
I:l involved in diving activities. All other
boats must stay at least 150 feet away.
DIVERS FLAG
Red flag with a diagonal white stripe
indicates that one or more diver(s) are
diving in the immediate area. All boats
must remain 150 feet from the flag,
unless in the diving party.

MORE SAFETY AND COURTESY TIPS

Swimming

Swimming near a launch ramp, around boat docks,
in a mooring area or inside a marina or harbor is
prohibited. “Swimming” and “No Swimming” areas
are designated for your protection.

Unless one person remains on board to operate
the boat, swimming from an unanchored boat can
create a dangerous situation. Wind can cause the
boat to drift, leaving swimmers stranded in the
water. It is a safe practice to wear your life jacket
while swimming from your boat in open water.

Courtesy Docks

Courtesy docks are placed for your convenience.

Be courteous by leaving your boat tied to a courtesy
dock no longer than 15 minutes. Fishing from or
within 75 feet of a courtesy dock is prohibited.

Launch Ramp Etiquette

Boat ramps are for launching and retrieving only.
Vehicles should be parked in designated parking areas
and never left unattended on a launch ramp. Be ready
to launch your boat before moving onto the ramp.
Complete your launch quickly. When retrieving your
boat, pull it away from the ramp before wiping it down
and securing it for extended travel.

Hicniients Frow JTAHS BOATING Lavws & Rutes
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EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS

Think about possible emergency situations.
Determine what to do if someone falls overboard,
if there is a fire, breakdown or collision.

Practice putting on your life jacket while you are
in the water. Practice throwing a Type IV PFD.

If your boat capsizes, it will usually float. Put on
a life jacket and stay with the boat so you can be
more easily seen by rescuers.

OTHER GOVERNING AGENCIES

There are federal, state and local governing agencies
that may establish boating safety requirements,
which may be more restrictive than Utah’s boating
laws and rules. Be sure to learn their restrictions
before you go boating.

WHERE CAN | LEARN MORE

Contact the Utah State Parks Boating Program at
boating.utah.gov or call Utah’s Boating Hotline at
(801) 538- BOAT (2628).

Other boating safety courses are available
through:
U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary: www.cgaux.org

CONTACTS

For a complete copy of Utah’s Boating Laws and
Rules contact: Utah State Parks Boating Program,

boating.utah.gov:

Utah State Parks and Recreation
stateparks.utah.gov

1594 West North Temple, Suite 116

P.O. Box 146001

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6001

Utah's Boating Hotline: 801-538-BOAT (2628)

For boat registration information, contact:

Utah Division of Motor Vehicles
dmv.utah.gov

210 North 1950 West

Salt Lake City, UT 84134

(800) 368-8824 | (801) 297-7780 Salt Lake calling area

For Aquatic Invasive Species information, contact:

Division of Wildlife Resources
wildlife.utah.gov/mussels
1594 West North Temple, Suite 2110

P.O. Box 146301 | Salt Lake City, UT 84114
To report possible Aquatic Invasive Species call:
(800) 662-3337 | (801) 538-4700

The Utah Department of Natural Resources receives federal aid and
prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, age, national origin
or disability. For information or complaints regarding discrimination,
contact: Executive Director, Utah Department of Natural Resources, PO Box
145610, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-5610 or Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission, 1801 L Street, NW, Washington, DC 20507-0001.
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