Registration and Insurance
All motorboats and sailboats must be properly registered with current registration decals to legally operate on Utah waters. Certificates of registration and annual registration decals are obtained by presenting the proper application form, fee, and validated tax certificate to the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Exceptions to registration include canoes, kayaks and other vessels not propelled by motor or sail, sailboards, and properly registered vessels owned by residents of another state and using Utah waters for 60 or fewer days.
The certificate of registration must be onboard and available for inspection by any law enforcement officer whenever the vessel is operated.
• No other numbers may be displayed on either side of the bow.
• Only current year registration decals may be displayed.
• If your vessel is required to be registered, it is illegal to operate or allow others to operate your vessel unless it is properly registered and numbered.
Each motorboat and personal watercraft (PWC) are required to carry owner’s or operator’s liability insurance when operated on Utah waters. The minimum insurance requirements are: $25,000/$50,000 bodily injury/death - $15,000 property damage or $65,000 combined minimum per accident.
Motorboats equipped with engines less than 50 horsepower and all airboats are exempt from this requirement.
Proof of insurance must be carried on board the motorboat whenever it is in operation. Evidence of insurance coverage includes one of the following items:
- an insurance policy,
- a binder notice,
- a renewal notice,
- or a card issued by the insurance company.
A motorboat owned by a non-Utah resident and registered in the non-resident’s state must meet its state’s insurance requirements or have 90 days to comply with Utah’s liability insurance requirements.