coral pink sand dunes state park
About Coral Pink Sand Sunes State Park
- Mike Franklin, Park Manager
The geology of the sand dunes is an intriguing subject. The sand comes from Navajo sandstone from the geologic period call Middle Jurassic. The same iron oxides and minerals that give us spectacular red rock country are responsible for this landscape of coral pink sand.
Sand dunes are created by three factors: Sand, high winds,and a unique influence upon the wind. The notch between the Moquith and Moccasin mountains causes this unique influence. The wind is funneled through the notch, thereby increasing wind velocity to a point where it can carry sand grains from the eroding Navajo sandstone.
This phenomenon is known as the Venturi Affect. Once the wind passes through the notch and into the open valley, the wind velocity decreases, causing the sand to be deposited.These dunes are estimated at 10,000 to 15,000 years old.
Coral Pink Sand Dunes support a diverse population of insects, including the Coral Pink tiger beetle that is found only here. Melting snow sometimes creates small ponds in the dunes that support amphibians such as salamanders and toads.
The park is also a popular destination for ATV riders. About 90% of the dunes are open for riding, but all of the dunes are open for hiking and just playing in the sand.
Opened to the public as a state park in 1963.
Park Elevation: 6,000 feet
Hours and Fees
Park hours: Daylight hours, seven days a week
Day-use fee: $6; $3 for Utah seniors 62 and older
Main Campground: $16
Group Overnight Camping:
Group Campground: $3 per person (25 person min - 50 max - 5 vehicles+trailers max)
Become a Junior Ranger at Coral Pink Sand Dunes State Park!
Our Junior Rangers are usually ages six to 12, but everyone is welcome. Download our Junior Ranger Manual before you arrive or check in with a park ranger at the park. Junior Rangers earn a badge and certificate!
OHV Safety Tips
Visitor safety is our number one concern. While enjoying the acres of beautiful dunes, please follow these rules:
WHIPTAIL FLAG: All riders must have an orange whiptail flag on their off-highway vehicles.
WEAR YOUR HELMET: Utah law requires that all riders under 18 must wear a properly sized and fastened helmet. We also strongly recommend that adult riders wear a helmet. Helmets save lives.
ZERO TOLERANCE: Alcohol and drugs do not mix with any type of vehicle, including off-highway vehicles. Alcohol impairs judgment and reduces reaction time. Sadly, every year we have several alcohol related OHV deaths. DUI laws apply to OHVs. If you're going to drink, don't drive and don't ride.
EDUCATION: Youth eight to 16 must be certified to legally operate an OHV on public lands. Visit our Youth Education page for more information and for kids to study and take the certification test. Children under age eight are not allowed to operate an OHV on public lands. Parents, remember that this course is designed to keep your children safe; and it's the law.
CARRYING PASSENGERS: DON'T! ATV manufacturers place warnings on machines stating not to carry passengers. Obey these recommendations. Carrying passengers changes the balance, weight, and handling of the machines. Several accidents every year claim the lives of passengers who were "just along for the ride".
Volunteer & Service
Current Hosting Needs
Hosts: 1 Host/1 Available June - October (six month commitment required)
Months Needed: Year-round
Adopt a Park
ServiceGet more volunteer information