Utah State Parks rangers encourage all snowmobilers to have a pre-plan in place before heading out for a ride. Let a responsible person know where you are going, when you plan to return, a written description of the snowmobiles and license plate number of your tow vehicle. This information helps search and rescue crews in the event of an emergency.
Keep your distance when operating your snowmobile while traveling in a line or group. Be sure to keep at least a two-second interval between you and the snowmobile ahead of you. Never operate the machine at excessive speeds that may impair your ability to stop quickly or avoid a collision with other riders or objects. If operating at night, drive slowly enough that your headlight can illuminate the area in front of you.
Utah State Park Rangers remind snowmobilers to be aware of snow conditions and avalanche dangers before heading into Utah's backcountry.
- Check weather reports and avalanche advisories at utahavalanchecenter.org
- Wear a transmitting avalanche beacon, and carry a shovel and probe
- Allow one rider at a time on steep slopes and park in safe locations while watching riders
- Stop periodically to look for clues of instability and consider avalanche hazards
Snowmobiling while under the influence of alcohol is against the law and carries the same penalties as driving an automobile under the influence (DUI). If convicted, you may face jail time, large fines, cancellation or rate hikes on your insurance, and loss of your driver's license.
Snowmobiles operated or transported on public lands, roads or trails in Utah must display a current off-highway vehicle (OHV) registration sticker and a registration card must be kept with each snowmobile. All in-state snowmobile registrations are handled by the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles. Most non-resident snowmobile operators are required to purchase a $30 nonresident
OHV permit for each machine brought into the state. Permits are available from vendors statewide and near popular snowmobile destinations. A complete list of vendors is available at stateparks.utah.gov/ohv/vendors.html.
In an effort to meet the growing demand for off-highway vehicle (OHV) and snowmobile youth education courses, Utah State Parks offers two additional online courses at stateparks.utah.gov/ohv. Each course offers different teaching styles to address various learning needs. Course fees are $30 and cover ATVs, off-highway motorcycles and side-by-side ATVs. Snowmobile courses address safety, avalanche preparedness, and riding gear. Upon successful completion of course work, students print a temporary certificate valid for 60 days and later receive a permanent certificate by mail. Utah law requires youth ages eight to 15 and those without a valid driver's license to complete an approved OHV or snowmobile education course before operating on
public lands, roads, or trails. It is illegal for any child under age eight to operate an OHV or snowmobile on public land.
Stay off all muddy roads and trails, and stay out of high flow streams and river crossings. Driving and riding on muddy roads can damage the roadways, which is costly to fix. Road and trail damage also impacts soils, streams, plants and speed up erosion. A rule of thumb is if you leave a mark in the trail, it’s not fit for travel.
For more information, email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 801-538-RIDE. RIDE ON!